PSC Chairman inaugurates Standing Committees, urges member to be selfless, painstaking in their operations

The Chairman of the Police Service Commission, Alhaji Musiliu Smith, a retired Inspector General of Police, has inaugurated Standing Committees of the Commission.
Also inaugurated is the Commission’s Management Retreat Planning Committee.
The Committees are expected to process, advice and guide the Commission in taking decisions during its Plenary Meetings.
Speaking at the inauguration of the eight Standing Committees and the Retreat Planning Committee in Abuja on Friday, Alhaji Smith enjoined the Chairmen and members, to be selfless, passionate, swift and painstaking in the consideration of matters brought before them and in their recommendations to the Plenary, the highest decision making body of the Commission for informed decisions.
He noted that for the Commission to function effectively, “there is need to constitute Standing Committees which will deliberate into all matters brought before the Commission”.
The PSC Chairman explained that the Committees are expected” to receive and consider processed Memoranda requiring Board decision(s) from the relevant operational Department(s) of the Commission for thorough and exhaustive deliberations on any matter/case brought before the Commission in order to arrive at a well guided recommendation(s) for Plenary ‘s approval”
According to him, “the purpose for this is to ensure that all cases/matters brought before the Commission at Plenary pass through the relevant Standing Committees for in-depth analysis and consideration before recommendations are made to the Plenary”. This is to ensure the quality of the final decisions of the Plenary, he said.
Alhaji Smith congratulated the Chairmen and members of the Committee on their appointments, adding that the constitution of the membership of the Committees took into consideration their background and wealth of experience “which are expected to be brought to bear in the discharge of functions of your Committees”.
The Chairman of the Commission is also the Chairman of the Standing Committee on Finance and General Purposes; Commissioner Austine Braimoh Chairman of the Committee on Police Recruitment and also that of Press and Public Affairs; Commissioner Nkemka Jombo-Ofo.
Others are Chairman Committee on Police Discipline;, AIG Lawal Bawa (rtd), Chairman Committtee on Police Promotion; Justice Clara Bata Ogunbiyi, Chairman Committee on Complaints, Petitions and Legal Matters; Commissioner Rommy Mom, Chairman, Committee on Strategy Development Plan and also Chairman of the Retreat Planning Committee and Commissioner Hadiza Muhammed, Chairman Committee on Establishment/Personnel Matters.
A statement by Ikechukwu Ani, Head, Press and Public Relations said, “The Permanent Secretary and Secretary to the Commission, Musa Istifanus also used the occasion to brief the Chairmen and Members of the Committees on the functions of the Committees.
“The new Board of the Commission was inaugurated on July 25th 2018 for 5- year tenure by President Muhammadu Buhari.”

naija papers


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here