Promotion of Major Generals, & Brigadier Generals in the Army for 2018 based strictly on merit, vacancies; without any external influence – COAS (Buratai)

Promotion of Major Generals, & Brigadier Generals in the Army based strictly on merit, vacancies; without any external influence – COAS (Buratai)

The Chief of Army Staff, Lt General Yusuf Buratai on Thursday described the crop of the newly promoted Major Generals and Brigadiers General as the best the Nigerian Army has to offer noting that it was strictly based on merit without any iota of influence.
Speaking at the decoration ceremony of 28 Major Generals and 21 Brigadier Generals at the Army Headquarters Command Officers Mess in Abuja on Thursday, Buratai said that though many others deserved promotion, the final number was arrived at based on vacancies available for posting.
“Since vacancy is the major factor in determining those to be promoted, we must get best. The rest that are not promoted are good but will have their time. Also, you must remember that promotion is from God alone.
“It is done for the purpose of our service and purpose of our country. We must get the right people at the right time. Moreover, it has received the blessings of Mr. President and Commander in chief, President Muhammadu Buhari.
Shortly after decoration, he told the senior officers to prepare for deployment to the North East for the fight against the insurgency adding, “You must remain committed, your loyalty must be unshakeable and you should remain professional in your responsibilities”.
Among those decorated were Major General Solomon Odounwa (former DA UN Mission, New York), Major General Charles Ofoche (Coordinator, Studies, Army War College), Major General Sule Zakari Kazaure (DG NYSC), Major General Danjuma Alli-Keffi, Major General Sani Mohammed (Commandant Depot NA), Major General Yusuf Shalangwa, Major General Adeleke Bakare, and Major General Wilson Azuka Obi.
Others are Major General Temitope Ademola (DA China), Major General Osagiede Uzamere, Major General Kayode Ogundele, Major General Okechukwu Ugo, Major General Maher Bashir, Major General Abdullahi Othman, Major General Musa Mshelia, Major General Christopher Musa.
Also decorated were Major General Igiwiyisa Ehiorobo, Major General Bolaji Nichodemus Salami, Major General Tunde Akinjobi, Major General Johnson Irefin, Major General Victor Offiong, Major General Simon Ibikunle, Major General Jelil Ogunlade, Major General Godwin Umelo, Major General Obiora Enendu, Major General Maude Ali, Major General MH Magaji and Major General Ope Ali.
Among the Brigadiers General decorated were Brigadier General John Sura, Brigadier General Eric Emeka, Brigadier General Wilson Azuka Obi, Brigadier General Segun Adetoro, Brigadier General Jonathan Awun, Brigadier General Etuk John-Okon, Brigadier General Eyitayo Oyinlola, Brigadier General KA Kazir, Brigadier General Sylvester Oloyede, Brigadier General FG Dimlong, Brigadier General Idris Abdulkadir, Brigadier General Saidu Musa and Brigadier General WG Nasir.
Others are Brigadier General Ayoola Abooba, Brigadier General Jubrin Aliyu, Brigadier General HI Mabioku, Brigadier General Muhammad Usman, Brigadier General H Oyelade, brigadier General KE Ede, and Brigadier General Busari.
Present at the occasion were the Minister of Sports, Barr. Solomon Dalong, former Chief of Defence Intelligence, Major General Mohammed Said (rtd), Major General Charles Arhiavware (rtd) Chief of Defence Intelligence, AVM Sani Usman, Chief of Training and Operations, Defence Headquarters, Major General Lucky Irabor, and the Chief of Administration, Defence Headquarters, Rear Admiral Abba.



Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here