Buratai Commissions’ Ultra-Modern HQ Military Secretary, Army’s (MS) Office at Mambilla Barracks.

The Chief of Army Staff, Lt. General Tukur Yusuf Buratai on Wednesday commissioned the newly built Office of the Military Secretary, Army, the office responsible for keeping records as well as generation of postings, promotions and other vital documentation of officers of the Nigerian Army.

The new building aside from being a state of the art infrastructure, has been digitized with modern safe-keeping equipment for time tested recording and documentation (data).

In addition to the headquarters’ office building, the Military Secretary’s office now has a modern multi-media conference center capable of holding various conferences including occasions whereby senior officers may have to write exams.

Speaking at the ceremony, Lt. General Buratai expressed satisfaction with the completion of the edifice saying “This is what is needed of a modern army like the Nigerian Army going forward to achieve its objectives.

“I am sure the new equipment and installations will be properly put to use in order to lead our army into rising up to the new realm of challenges of present times”, he said.

Acting Military Secretary, Army, Brigadier General Gabriel Ochigbano in his welcome address, paid glowing tribute to the Chief of Army Staff, for not only providing the funding for the project, but ensuring that equipment and furnishings of the highest standard were provided for the new edifice.

Ochigbano disclosed that the project was conceived and started seven months ago by his predecessor, Major General Farouk Yahaya, who is now the GOC 1 division, Kaduna pointing out that the digitization of data in the Military Secretary’s department by the COAS will henceforth result in best practices.

Dignitaries and retired senior officers who attended the commissioning ceremony were the former Chief of Army Staff, Lt. General Onyeabor Azubuike Ihejirika (rtd), Major General Akpa (rtd), Major General JB Samuel (rtd) and Major General Abdulkadri (rtd).

Others are Major General Abbah (rtd), Major General Awala (rtd), Major Gen AT Jubrin (rtd), Major General Buzugbe (rtd) and the GOC 1 division, Kaduna, Major General Yahaya who is currently GOC 1 division.



Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here