Buhari nominates Olonisakin, Buratai, Ibas, Abubakar & Usman as Non-Career Ambassadors

President Muhammadu Buhari has forwarded the names of the immediate past Chief of Defence Staff and  Service Chiefs to the Senate as non-career Ambassadors-Designate.

In a letter to Senator Ahmad Ibrahim Lawan, President of the Senate, the President said: “In accordance with section 171 (1), (2) (c) & sub-section (4) of 1999 Constitution of the Federal Republic of Nigeria as amended, I have the honour to forward for confirmation by the Senate, the under-listed five (5) names of nominees as Non-Career Ambassadors-Designate.”

The nominees are: Gen Abayomi G. Olonisakin (Rtd ), Lt Gen Tukur Y. Buratai (Rtd), Vice Admiral Ibok-Ete Ibas (Rtd), Air Marshal Sadique Abubakar (Rtd), and Air Vice Marshal Mohammed S. Usman (Rtd).

AVM MS Usman

The President urged the Senate to give expeditious consideration to the nominations.

This was made known in a statement signed by Mr. Femi Adesina, Special Adviser to the President, (Media and Publicity) dated February 4, 2021.



Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here