Buhari directs all FEC members seeking elective offices to resign by May 16

President Muhammadu Buhari has given the marching orders to members of the Federal Executive Council (FEC) running for elective offices to submit their letters of resignation on or before Monday, the 16th of May, 2022.

The Minister of information and Culture, Lai Mohammed, disclosed this on Wednesday after the Federal Executive Council meeting.

Those affected are Ministers of Justice and Attorney General of the Federation Abubakar Malami, seeking to be Kebbi state governor; Transportation, Rotimi Amaechi; Niger Delta, Godswill Akpabio; Labour and Employment, Chris Ngige; Science, Technology and Innovation, Ogbonnaya Onu; Minister of State for Education, Emeka Nwajiuba, who have all joined the presidential race on the platform of the All Progressives Congress (APC).

Others are the Minister of State Mines and Steel, Uche Ogar, who is running for the governorship position in Abia State, and the Minister of Women Affairs, Pauline Tallen, who declared her ambition to contest for the senatorial seat in Plateau State.

Lai Mohammed noted that this mandate excluded the Vice President, Professor Yemi Osinbajo because he was an elected member of the cabinet.

He affirmed that any amendment or additions to this directive would be disseminated accordingly.

The Minister added that if the need arose, the directive might involve political appointees.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here