AANI AGM: IGP MD Abubakar Re-elected President; Brig-Gen Sani Kukasheka Usman Elected Publicity Secretary.

The Alumni Association of the National Institute (AANI) on Saturday March 6, 2021 held its 41st Annual General Meeting (AGM) for the year 2021 at the International Conference Centre, Abuja.

In his welcome address, the President, IGP Mohammed Dikko Abubakar (rtd), thanked members for showing their commitment to the Association as manifested in the large turnout. 

He also noted that the last two years were very challenging due to the COVID-19 pandemic, which impacted negatively on the Association as it also lost some of its members.

He, however, stated that the Association took advantage of the pandemic and assisted the less privileged in the society.

He mentioned that the Association had registered the AANI Cooperative Society, which is for members’ benefit. 

The 41st AGM went down in history as one of the AGM with the highest turnout of members since its inception.

Minutes of the 40th meeting were deliberated upon and adopted.

Similarly, various Executive Committee members and the Auditors presented reports to congress for consideration and adoption before the EXCO dissolution.

After that, the meeting nominated and Electoral Committee, headed by Engineer Jani Ibrahim, for a general election.

Other members of the Electoral Committee include, Major General Charles Airhiavbere, Ugochukwu Okoroafor, Hajiya Ramatu Dalhatu and Ismail Zakari.

In a hitch-free but keenly competed for election, the President, IGP Mohammed Dikko Abubakar (rtd), was returned unopposed.

In contrast, Ambassador Emmanuel Obi Okafor was elected Vice President, having scored the highest vote against Air Commodore Ademola Onituju (rtd).

Alhaji Abubakar Ismaila Isah defeated Dr. Gado Shehu to emerge as Secretary-General, while Dr Kayode Moses Babatunde, was elected Assistant Secretary-General, having higher votes against Dr. Ogbonna Onyeisi.

Barrister (Mrs.) Kemi Olomola-Sijuwade was also elected Legal Adviser, defeating Barrister Emmanuel Cobham, Dr. Asheikh Maidugu of the Federal Inland Revenue Service as elected Financial Secretary of the Association, having polled more votes than Mrs. Maryamu Laka Madami, the Chairman of Kaduna State and Mrs. Olayinka Patunola-Ajayi.

In the same vein, Mr. Salawu Zubairu was elected Internal Auditor, having scored more votes against Mr. Babatunde Abdurrahman.

Brigadier Sani Usman Kukasheka (rtd), a former Director of Army Public Relations, was elected as Publicity Secretary of the Association, having scored more votes against two contestants; Ambassador (Mrs.) Christy Mbonu and Mrs. Omolara Balogun.

Alhaji Ismail Umar Sifawa and Chief (Mrs) Love Ezema were elected unopposed as Treasurer and Welfare/Social Officer, respectively. 

Before the elections, each of the candidates had two minutes to speak to the congress on why they wanted to contest and what they would do if elected to make impressive presentations. 

The 41st AANI AGM was well attended as we had in attendance members of Senior Executive Course (SEC) 7, 8, 9 and 10 who drew thunderous standing ovations in attendance.

 During his inaugural address, after the inauguration of the new EXCO, the President, IGP Mohammed Dikko Abubakar (rtd) NPM mni, thanked all for the confidence in him and the new EXCO which he said would commence work in earnest and assured members of a high-quality leadership towards a better society.

 He also thanked Nigerians and the media for their immense support and assured that AANI would continue to work towards a better society in Nigeria.

AANI members from various parts of the country attended both the 41st AGM and general elections, cutting across different professional callings and other endeavours in life.

Among them was His Eminence, Alhaji Sa’ad Abubakar III, the Sultan of Sokoto, whom Alhaji Usman Bello Kankara represented, mni, Kanwan Katsina II, the District Head of Ketare, the Inspector General of Police, Mohammed A. Adamu NPM mni, who was represented by Deputy Inspector General of Police David Folawiyo mni, the Acting Director-General of the National Institute for Policy and Strategic Studies (NIPSS), Brigadier General CU Udaya (rtd) mni, Dr Pat Eze MON mni, Comrade Ayuba Wabba mni and Comrade Isa Aremu mni, amongst others. 


tribune news paper


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here