Army Chief, Lt. Gen Yahaya Inaugurates Gift Nnenna Ihejirika Staff Quarters & 500 Capacity Matha Bamaiyi Multi-Purpose Hall in Abuja; As NAOWA Immotalize’s Past Presidents.


The Nigeria Army Officers Wives Association (NAOWA) on Saturday made history with the completion and donation of Staff Quarters for teachers at the NAOWA College, Asokoro and a 500 seater multi-purpose hall at NAOWA Model Nursery and Primary School, the first of its kind for use of students.
While the Staff Quarters at the NAOWA College was named after the founder of the College, and wife of former Chief of Army Staff, Mrs Gift Nnenna Ihejirika, the 500 capacity hall was named after the founder of NAOWA Nursery and Primary School, and also wife of former Chief of Army Staff, Mrs Matha Bamaiyi.
Speaking at the commissioning of both structures, President of NAOWA, Mrs Salamatu Faruk Yahaya said “the ceremony is an avenue to celebrate and immortalize two great NAOWA past Presidents who have made noteworthy impacts in the growth structure of NAOWA”.
“In this regard, we resolved that the newly constructed staff quarters here at NAOWA College, Abuja be named Mrs Nnenna Ihejirika Staff Quarters and the Multipurpose Hall at NAOWA Model Nursery and Primary School, Asokoro be named, Mrs Matha Bamaiyi Multipurpose Hall”.
“This is indeed, our way of showing respect and also engraving continuity as a mantra in the leadership structure of NAOWA at all levels. It is also a way of preserving history for the benefit of NAOWA members, prospective leaders, staff and students of these institutions, as well as the public at large”.
Mrs. Yahaya said, “As the 22nd President of the Nigerian Army Officers Wives Association, these structures are products of my vision of ‘Sustaining Legacies and Upholding the Tenets of Unity and Service’. NAOWA has had great leaders who have carved a niche for themselves and secured ample space in the hall of fame of establishment of sustainable legacies that the association currently stands on.
“As such, sustaining these legacies through maintenance of existing structures, construction of additional structures, standardisation of all facilities and enhancement of quality service through capacity development programmes for NAOWA members and staff, are the operating principles of my vision”.
As part of the event, various gift items were presented to 19 Staff of NAOWA Model Nursery and Primary School, Asokoro who had put in an average of 15 years meritorious service in the school.
“This is our way of showing appreciation for the hard work, commitment, perseverance and determination in the developmental process of the school”, She said.
The NAOWA President used the occassion to extend the profound gratitude to the Chief of Army Staff, Lt. Gen Faruk Yahaya for being the major support the establishment of the structures even as she appreciated the contributions of the Commandant NDA, PSOs, GOCs and others.
While also appreciating Chairpersons of NAOWA for their combined effort in donating a 40 KVA generator to serve as an alternate source of electricity in the new multipurpose hall, Mrs Yahaya thanked the DEPOWA President, Barr. Mrs. Vickie Anwuli Irabor, NOWA President, Hajia Aisha Nana Gambo, NAFOWA President, Mrs. Elizabeth Amao and POWA President, Hajara Alkali Baba for their love and solidarity towads NAOWA.
In her remarks, Mrs Bamaiyi thanked the NAOWA President, Mrs Yahaya for sustaining the noble virtues of NAOWA and improving of the vision of past presidents.
She said, “Mrs Salamatu Yahaya is a woman with a heart of Gold” noting that, “The  staff quarters/accommodation, the hall, even the gift to appreciate the teachers are wonderful testaments. She also brought us here to recognize our contributions”
 “She is indeed a woman of substance because she has a heart that loves to improve the lives of people. She is a woman of good character and she loves humanity. Her tenure will be recorded as one of the greatest, one of the best”
Present at the occasion were the wives of the CDS and Service Chiefs, and former NAOWA Presidents including Hajia Hadiza Dambazau, Mrs Feli Minimah, Mrs Umma Buratai among others.



Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here