INEC declares Bayelsa Guber election inconclusive

    INEC declares Bayelsa Guber election inconclusive
    Following the cancellation of elections in the Southern Ijaw Local Government Area, the Independent National Electoral Commission (INEC) has declared the Bayelsa State governorship elections held on Saturday, December 5, inconclusive.

    Justifying the cancellation of Southern Ijaw LGA elections, INEC posited that there were glaring cases of electoral malpractices characterized by ballot snatching, thuggery and violence.

    Consequently, INEC said it will announce a date for fresh elections in Southern Ijaw LGA soon. Prior to this development, the commission had announced results of seven Local Government Areas out of the eight in the state.

    From the results announced so far, the incumbent Governor Seriake Dickosn, who is the governorship candidate of the People’s Democratic Party (PDP) has won in six of the seven Local Government results declared by INEC.

    His closest rival and governorship candidate of All Progressives Congress (APC), Timipriye Sylva, won in only one LGA.

    The results declared are as follows: Ogbia LGA, APC-9,106, PDP-13, 051; Sagbama LGA, APC-5, 382, PDP 28, 943; Yenagoa LGA, APC-14, 563, PDP-24, 258; Kolokuma/Okpuma LGA, APC-6, 896, PDP-7, 619; and Brass LGA, APC-21, 755, PDP-6, 516.
    Others are Ekeremo LGA, APC-7, 918, PDP-14, 602; Nembe LGA, APC-6, 974, PDP-10, 768; Southern Ijaw LGA-Cancelled.

    the nation newspaper


    Please enter your comment!
    Please enter your name here