Buratai appoint’s Major General AB Abubakar new GOC 82 Division; Decorates 20 new Major Generals including Olawunmi, Ude, Abraham, Jalingo.

    Chief of Army Staff, Lt. General Tukur Buratai on Thursday decorated 20 newly promoted Major Generals and 22 Brigadier Generals at the Conference room of the Army headquarters with a disclosure that troops of the Nigerian Army have penetrated deeply inside Sambisa Forest in the final push to flush out Boko Haram terrorists from the north East.

    Buratai made the disclosure just as it emerged that he has appointed Major General AB Abubakar, formerly the Chief of Administration, Army headquarters, as the new General Officer Commanding 82 division, Enugu.

    “Our troops are already deep inside Sambisa Forest; and are doing very well and we are very proud of them” Buratai said.

    Speaking on the promotions, the COAS said, “Promotion is a form of motivation and a key aspect of officer’s welfare. Today, we have witnessed the elevation of over 20 Major generals and 20 Brigadier Generals. To whom much is given, much is expected”.

    “We are aware of the vast improvement of critical infrastructure and equipment holding since my assumption of office. So many were eying these promotions. Those promoted are the lucky few out of the many.

    “Those who did not make it now should not despair. As the saying goes, it is not over until it is completely over. There will be other opportunity.

    “I want to use this opportunity to commend Mr. President for all the support he has given us which has led to all the successes we have achieved in all the operations we are embarking upon”.

    The officers decorated are Major General Chukwunedum Abraham, Acting GOC 2 division, Ibadan; Major General Johnson Bamidele Olawunmi, Director of Army Aviation. He was one time DG NYSC; Major General Bamidele Mathew Shaffa, Director of Operations at difence Intelligence agency and Major General Chikezie Onyeka Ude, Acting Chief of Transformation and Innovation.

    Others are Major General Abdullahi Sani Nani, Acting GOC 7 division, Major General okoi Obono, Acting Commandant artillery Corps, Major general Felix Ugo, Major general John Enenche, Major General Emmanuel George White, Major General Gbolahan Oyefesobi and Major General Sani Abdullahi Aliyu.

    Also decorated were Major General Chukwuemeka Okonkwo, Major General Adamu Mohammed Jalingo, deputy Chief of defence Intelligence, Major General Moses Orji Uzoh and Major General Umaru Mohammed while Major General Nuhu Angbazo who serves in a foreign mission was unavoidably absent.

    Among the over 20 Colonels decorated with the new rank of Brigadier General was Brigadier general Sani Kukasheka Usman, the Acting Director, Army Public Relations. He was specially decorated by the COAS, Lt. General Tukur Buratai and Mrs. Hadiza Sani Usman



    Please enter your comment!
    Please enter your name here